Logo Critique (GDES5015)

Below are the list of critique points I was given when my logo was reviewed:

  • Rose too illustrative
  • Type doesn’t match geometric style of rose
  • Perhaps bring the rose to the middle of the initials

My thoughts on this…

I’m aware that the rose is in an illustrative style but it is made simple by the geometric shapes. In my initial development I had the rose portrayed in a more simple manner but it didn’t really resemble a rose. I would also argue that whilst a lot of logos are simple there are also those who choose to be more complex and illustrative. See examples below:

I can see that there is a slight displacement between the calligraphic type and the geometric rose. I thought it was good to have the contrast, showing my different styles and also makes more of a statement of the rose. That being said I have experimented with this idea below.

I will try the rose in the middle of the initials but I don’t think it will work well, it breaks everything up too much and starts to become too long.

I don’t believe that any of these new logos work with the calligraphic type face, my original worked better. I can see something starting to emerge with the other typeface. The overlap is not successful as it becomes too complicated and I feel as though the rose in the middle makes it look as though two people’s initials are involved in a collaboration because of the space created. However perhaps I could adjust the logo to include this new typeface: Josefin Slab.

I tried out the logo type with the new typeface. I do like it, however I’m not sure about it all in white (see right). I prefer the black with white rose, it looks very ornate and powerful but I can’t decide if this would be too confusing for the eye. I will await further feedback on these developments.

Leave a comment