Designing my Branding Toolkit & Contextual Research (GDES5015)

A brand toolkit is a document that shows all of the elements that make up your brand (such as colours, typefaces, weights, sizes, logo) and how they can be used (for example, on different coloured background, which colours can be used for which typefaces, can you make the logo bigger or smaller). These set out clear guidelines that means your branding will be consistent throughout all its platforms.

As these are critical documents that are made to be sent out to a wide variety of people they are usually simple (and a bit boring). See some examples below:

I wanted to actually design something that was pleasant to look at, whilst also giving readers all of the branding guidelines and information. I took inspiration from Harry Roberts designs for ’36daysoftype’ on Instagram. I really liked the style of this and think it reflects my personality and design style.

Harry Roberts

I enjoyed making this and I like the contrast between the crumpled paper as the background and my modern design. The addition of the sketchy lines makes the design feel organic and original.

Leave a comment